MELI Expense Breakdown
MELI Expense Breakdown summary
MERCADOLIBRE INC (MELI). Quarter ended 2026-06-30 · every identified expense is compared with declared total expense. Share-based compensation is disclosed as a non-additive memo item because it is already allocated within functional expenses.
| Date | Component | Amount | Accounting treatment |
|---|
| 2026-06-30 | Cost of revenue | Not separately disclosed | Counted expense |
|---|
| 2026-06-30 | Research and development | $729M (10.33%) | Counted operating expense |
|---|
| 2026-06-30 | Selling and marketing | $1.13B (16.03%) | Counted operating expense |
|---|
| 2026-06-30 | General and administrative | $340M (4.82%) | Counted operating expense |
|---|
| 2026-06-30 | Income tax | $140M (1.98%) | Counted expense |
|---|
| 2026-06-30 | Share-based compensation | Not separately disclosed | Included in reported functional expense categories; shown as a non-additive memo item. |
|---|
| 2026-06-30 | Expenses unaccounted for | $4.25B (60.23%) | Signed difference between declared total expense and every additive identified expense; always shown |
|---|
| 2026-06-30 | Total identified expense | $2.34B (33.17%) | Sum of additive identified expenses; excludes non-additive share-based compensation memo |
|---|
| 2026-06-30 | Declared total expense | $6.59B (93.39%) | Declared revenue less declared net income |
|---|
Complete retained expense history
| Date | Cost of revenue | Research and development | Selling and marketing | General and administrative | Income tax | Share-based compensation | Expenses unaccounted for | Total identified expense | Declared total expense |
|---|
| 2026-06-30 | — | $729M (10.33%) | $1.13B (16.03%) | $340M (4.82%) | $140M (1.98%) | — | $4.25B (60.23%) | $2.34B (33.17%) | $6.59B (93.39%) |
|---|
| 2026-03-31 | — | $699M (11.53%) | $982M (16.19%) | $326M (5.38%) | $162M (2.67%) | — | $3.48B (57.36%) | $2.17B (35.76%) | $5.65B (93.12%) |
|---|
| 2025-09-30 | — | $567M (10.89%) | $833M (16.00%) | $270M (5.19%) | $215M (4.13%) | — | $2.9B (55.70%) | $1.89B (36.22%) | $4.78B (91.91%) |
|---|
| 2025-06-30 | — | $567M (11.81%) | $751M (15.64%) | $261M (5.43%) | $193M (4.02%) | — | $2.51B (52.22%) | $1.77B (36.89%) | $4.28B (89.11%) |
|---|
| 2025-03-31 | — | $551M (13.15%) | $599M (14.29%) | $255M (6.08%) | $212M (5.06%) | — | $2.08B (49.63%) | $1.62B (38.58%) | $3.7B (88.21%) |
|---|
| 2024-09-30 | — | $504M (12.94%) | $566M (14.53%) | $305M (7.83%) | $123M (3.16%) | — | $2B (51.35%) | $1.5B (38.46%) | $3.5B (89.81%) |
|---|
| 2024-06-30 | — | $460M (12.22%) | $511M (13.57%) | $218M (5.79%) | $137M (3.64%) | — | $1.91B (50.68%) | $1.33B (35.22%) | $3.23B (85.90%) |
|---|
| 2024-03-31 | — | $458M (14.78%) | $478M (15.42%) | $186M (6.00%) | $137M (4.42%) | — | $1.5B (48.27%) | $1.26B (40.63%) | $2.76B (88.90%) |
|---|
| 2023-09-30 | — | $396M (14.62%) | $441M (16.28%) | $196M (7.24%) | $172M (6.35%) | — | $1.15B (42.27%) | $1.21B (44.48%) | $2.35B (86.75%) |
|---|
| 2023-06-30 | — | $368M (14.84%) | $383M (15.45%) | $189M (7.62%) | $210M (8.47%) | — | $1.07B (43.04%) | $1.15B (46.39%) | $2.22B (89.43%) |
|---|
| 2023-03-31 | — | $381M (17.60%) | $383M (17.69%) | $180M (8.31%) | $122M (5.64%) | — | $898M (41.48%) | $1.07B (49.24%) | $1.96B (90.72%) |
|---|
| 2022-12-31 | — | — | — | — | — | — | $2.84B (94.50%) | $0.00 (0%) | $2.84B (94.50%) |
|---|
| 2022-09-30 | — | $278M (10.33%) | $333M (12.38%) | $153M (5.69%) | $69M (2.57%) | — | $1.73B (64.24%) | $833M (30.97%) | $2.56B (95.20%) |
|---|
| 2022-06-30 | — | $262M (10.09%) | $296M (11.40%) | $173M (6.66%) | $39M (1.50%) | — | $1.7B (65.61%) | $770M (29.65%) | $2.47B (95.26%) |
|---|
| 2022-03-31 | — | $234M (10.41%) | $286M (12.72%) | $159M (7.07%) | $46M (2.05%) | — | $1.46B (64.86%) | $725M (32.25%) | $2.18B (97.11%) |
|---|
| 2021-12-31 | — | — | — | — | — | — | $2.18B (102.16%) | $0.00 (0%) | $2.18B (102.16%) |
|---|
| 2021-09-30 | — | $138M (7.43%) | $281M (15.12%) | $123M (6.62%) | $31M (1.67%) | — | $1.19B (64.05%) | $573M (30.84%) | $1.76B (94.89%) |
|---|
| 2021-06-30 | — | $147M (8.63%) | $251M (14.74%) | $108M (6.34%) | $70M (4.11%) | — | $1.06B (62.18%) | $576M (33.82%) | $1.64B (96.01%) |
|---|
| 2021-03-31 | — | $126M (9.14%) | $288M (20.90%) | $86M (6.24%) | $44M (3.19%) | — | $868M (62.99%) | $544M (39.48%) | $1.41B (102.47%) |
|---|
| 2020-12-31 | — | — | — | — | — | — | $1.38B (103.84%) | $0.00 (0%) | $1.38B (103.84%) |
|---|
| 2020-09-30 | — | $88.8M (7.96%) | $229.62M (20.58%) | $78.7M (7.05%) | $37.64M (3.37%) | — | $666.25M (59.70%) | $434.75M (38.96%) | $1.1B (98.66%) |
|---|
| 2020-06-30 | — | $73.25M (8.34%) | $184.08M (20.97%) | $70.4M (8.02%) | $33.39M (3.80%) | — | $460.87M (52.49%) | $361.13M (41.13%) | $822M (93.62%) |
|---|
| 2020-03-31 | — | $73.44M (11.26%) | $206.51M (31.67%) | $62.57M (9.60%) | $4.43M (0.68%) | — | $326.06M (50.01%) | $346.94M (53.21%) | $673M (103.22%) |
|---|
| 2019-12-31 | — | — | — | — | — | — | $728.27M (108.01%) | $0.00 (0%) | $728.27M (108.01%) |
|---|
| 2019-09-30 | — | $59.5M (9.87%) | $252.9M (41.94%) | $53.87M (8.93%) | $79.16M (13.13%) | — | $303.69M (50.36%) | $445.42M (73.86%) | $749.11M (124.22%) |
|---|
| 2019-06-30 | — | $53.92M (9.89%) | $180.69M (33.14%) | $50.3M (9.23%) | -$8.92M (-1.64%) | — | $253.02M (46.41%) | $276M (50.62%) | $529.03M (97.03%) |
|---|
| 2019-03-31 | $236.77M (49.97%) | $52.37M (11.05%) | $130.68M (27.58%) | $43.82M (9.25%) | $3.49M (0.74%) | $13.44M (2.84%) | -$5.22M (-1.10%) | $467.12M (98.60%) | $461.91M (97.50%) |
|---|
| 2018-12-31 | — | — | — | — | — | — | $430.36M (100.55%) | $0.00 (0%) | $430.36M (100.55%) |
|---|
| 2018-09-30 | $185.56M (52.23%) | $35.48M (9.99%) | $110.44M (31.09%) | $34.8M (9.80%) | -$4.23M (-1.19%) | — | $3.31M (0.93%) | $362.05M (101.91%) | $365.36M (102.84%) |
|---|
| 2018-06-30 | $175.63M (52.37%) | $33.44M (9.97%) | $121.22M (36.14%) | $33.34M (9.94%) | -$7.7M (-2.30%) | — | -$9.29M (-2.77%) | $355.92M (106.12%) | $346.63M (103.35%) |
|---|
| 2018-03-31 | $158.22M (49.29%) | $38.4M (11.96%) | $110.72M (34.50%) | $43.06M (13.41%) | -$12.44M (-3.88%) | $15.74M (4.90%) | -$4.06M (-1.27%) | $337.96M (105.29%) | $333.9M (104.02%) |
|---|
| 2017-12-31 | — | — | — | — | — | — | $425.78M (118.91%) | $0.00 (0%) | $425.78M (118.91%) |
|---|
| 2017-09-30 | $129.09M (42.34%) | — | $84.14M (27.59%) | $31.77M (10.42%) | $8.99M (2.95%) | — | $23.27M (7.63%) | $253.99M (83.30%) | $277.26M (90.93%) |
|---|
| 2017-06-30 | $112.33M (39.57%) | — | $76.86M (27.07%) | $31.5M (11.10%) | $7.11M (2.50%) | — | $50.78M (17.89%) | $227.79M (80.24%) | $278.57M (98.13%) |
|---|
| 2017-03-31 | $100.82M (37.39%) | — | $46.93M (17.40%) | $28.31M (10.50%) | $21.15M (7.84%) | $9.18M (3.40%) | $23.95M (8.88%) | $197.2M (73.13%) | $221.16M (82.01%) |
|---|